Your guide to vegan food brands


  • Find out about some of the most popular vegan food brands in the world, including who owns them and whether they are vegan businesses.
  • Discover the types of products made by each vegan food manufacturer.
  • Make informed shopping decisions about the vegan food brands you want to support.

We all have vegan food and drink brands that we love, and we’ll help you dig a little deeper. We cover over 30 vegan food brands, including some of the most popular ones in the world including Beyond, Impossible, Tofurky, Gardein, Follow Your Heart, and more.

Our vegan brand guide provides:

  • A brief overview of each vegan food manufacturer.
  • Whether they make vegan products, if all their products are vegan, and if they are a vegan business. 
  • Where to get their products.
  • The main products they make.

Let’s get into it.

 

Vegan food brands that only make vegan products and are vegan businesses


These brands only manufacture vegan products and we’re fairly sure that they are self-owned and vegan.

  • Atlantic Natural Foods (Loma Linda and Neat)
  • Follow Your Heart
  • Missionary Chocolates
  • Miyoko’s
  • Plamil
  • Tofurky

Vegan food brands that only make vegan products but have owners and investors that may not be vegan


These brands only manufacture vegan products but we don’t know if the owners or investors follow vegan principles.

There’s some useful context on Impossible and Just on Pragmatic Vegan.

 

Vegan food brands that only make vegan products but are owned by businesses that also own animal product brands


These brands only manufacture vegan products, but they are owned by larger businesses or investors that also own or invest in brands that use animal products and ingredients.

  • Alpro, owned by Danone.
  • Daiya, owned by Otsuka Pharmaceuticals.
  • Earth Balance, owned by Conagra.
  • Earth’s Own, owned by Agrifoods International Cooperative.
  • Field Roast / Chao Cheese, owned by Maple Leaf Foods.
  • Gardein, owned by Conagra.
  • Kite Hill, invested in by General Mills.
  • Lightlife, owned by Maple Leaf Foods.
  • Sabra, owned by Pepsico.
  • Silk, owned by Danone.
  • So Delicious, owned by Danone.
  • Violife, owned by Upfield (vegan), which is owned by KKR.

Brands that make vegan food but that also make non-vegan products


These brands do offer some vegan food options, but they also produce other food that is not vegan and does contain animal products.

  • Amy’s Kitchen.
  • Boca, owned by Kraft.
  • Earth Grown, owned by Aldi.
  • Heritage Health Foods.
  • Linda McCartney foods, owned by Hain Celestial Group.
  • Morningstar Farms, owned by Kellogg’s.
  • Quorn, owned by Monde Nissan.
  • Sweet Earth, owned by Nestlé.
  • Tofutti.
  • Yves, owned by Hain Celestial Group.

Let’s explore each of the vegan food brands.

Alpro


Alpro is a Belgian company specializing in soy-based foods and drinks. It was founded in 1980 by the Vandermoortele Groep, a  family business. While all Alpro branded products are vegan, it is now owned by Danone, which is not a vegan company and which also tests some ingredients and foods on animals.


Alpro vegan status


What Alpro says about itself

“We know being healthy can be tricky & that pesky old habits die hard, so we’re here to help people who want change with our delicious plant-based foods. We’re all about cheerleading life’s triers, because any step – big or small – is a positive step in the right direction. Progress is progress – and that’s something we’ve believed in ever since we became the plant-based pioneers back in the 1980s.” 
Alpro

Does Alpro make vegan products?

Yes. Alpro makes vegan milks, ice cream, coffee, yogurt, desserts, and other fairly alternatives. 

Are all Alpro products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Alpro are plant-based and vegan.

Is Alpro a vegan business?

No. Alpro is owned by Danone which owns numerous other brands including many dairy brands.

 

Alpro vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Alpro make?

  • Vegan milks and flavored milks including almond, oat, soy, coconut, rice, cashew, and hazelnut.
  • Vegan premixed milks and coffee.
  • Vegan yogurts in multiple flavors.
  • Vegan Greek yogurts in multiple flavors.
  • Vegan ice cream.
  • Vegan desserts.

Where can I find Alpro vegan products?

Alpro is widely available at grocery stores and supermarkets in many countries around the world.

Amy’s Kitchen


Amy’s Kitchen was founded in 1987 by Andy and Rachel Berliner and produces convenience and frozen foods. All of their products are vegetarian and some are vegan. Their first product was the Amy’s Vegetable Pot Pie and now they make many  categories of foods including pizza, soup, burritos, and mac and cheese. The company is still family-owned.


Amy’s Kitchen vegan status


What Amy’s Kitchen says about itself

“Our goal is to do things the right way. Right by our customers. Right by our farmers. Right by our family of employees. And right by our Earth. The right way isn’t always the smart way or the easy way, but it’s the only way we’re interested in.”
Amy’s Kitchen

Does Amy’s Kitchen make vegan products?

Yes. Amy’s Kitchen makes a number of vegan products.

Are all Amy’s Kitchen products vegan?

No. Amy’s Kitchen does not exclusively produce vegan foods, a number of their products are vegetarian and contain dairy or eggs.

Is Amy’s Kitchen a vegan business?

No. We believe Amy’s Kitchen is family-owned, but as they produce vegetarian food, they cannot be classified as a vegan business.

 

Amy’s Kitchen vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Amy’s Kitchen make?

  • Vegan pizzas.
  • Vegan casseroles, stews, and tagines.
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan mac and cheese.
  • Various ready-made vegan bowls including chili, paella, and curry bowls.
  • Vegan burgers, sausages, and burritos.
  • Various vegan Chinese, Thai, and Indian foods.
  • Vegan pasta and noodle bowls.
  • Vegan pies. 

Where can I find Amy’s Kitchen vegan products?

Amy’s Kitchen foods are widely available in grocery stores across the U.S. Some of their products are also available from online retailers.

Atlantic Natural Foods (Loma Linda, Neat)


Atlantic Natural foods is a plant-based company with a couple of shelf-stable vegan brands. The first, Loma Linda, makes canned vegan products such as chili, hot dogs, burgers, and tuna as well as pouches of pre-prepared foods like stews and curries. The second brand is Neat, which consists of pouches of mixes for brownies and cookies as well as mixes for burgers and tacos, and an egg-replacer that they use in their products and sell separately. The manufacturing plants, located in North Carolina, are completely vegan.


Atlantic Natural Foods vegan status


What Atlantic Natural Foods says about itself

At Atlantic Natural Foods, Inc. we create, manufacture, and distribute high quality, sustainable plant-protein foods and beverages. We are committed to sustainability, nutrition, convenience and social responsibility with a focus on delivering taste and value. We stay true to our 100+ year tradition, as well as our commitment: Good for you, good for the planet. We are home to three major brands – Loma Linda, neat, and Kaffree Roma – and we are a leader in shelf-stable products for consumers seeking a plant-based lifestyle. We are the go-to source for those with dietary restrictions or committed to a traditional diet.
Atlantic Natural Foods

Does Atlantic Natural Foods make vegan products?

Yes, all of the foods made by Atlantic Natural Foods, and their brands Loma Linda and Neat are vegan and contain no animal products.

Are all Atlantic Natural Foods vegan?

Yes, everything manufactured by Atlantic Natural Foods is vegan.

Is Atlantic Natural Foods a vegan business?

Yes, we believe Atlantic Natural Foods is self-owned and vegan.

 

Atlantic Natural Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products do Atlantic Natural Foods make?

Atlantic Food Services manages several different brands that each manufacturer different foods:

  • Vegan frankfurters and hot dogs (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan chilis and stews (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan fish substitutes (Loma Linda / Tuno).
  • Vegan meat substitutes (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan ground meat substitutes (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan sausages (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan burgers and patties (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan curries and ethnic foods (Loma Linda).
  • Vegan dessert mixes (Neat).
  • Vegan baking, biscuit, and cookie mixes (Neat).
  • Vegan burger and bean mixes (Neat).
  • Vegan egg replacements (Neat).

Where can I find Atlantic Natural Foods vegan products?

You can find Loma Linda, Neat, and Tuno brands at many nationwide and local grocery chains, and their products are also available online through Amazon.

Beyond Meat


Ethan Brown created Beyond Meat in 2009. All Beyond Meat products are vegan, and they have never tested their products on animals. The company recently went public and has proven to be extraordinarily popular and they are rapidly expanding their product range.


Beyond Meat vegan status


What Beyond Meat says about itself

“We believe there is a better way to feed our future and that the positive choices we all make, no matter how small, can have a great impact on our personal health and the health of our planet. By shifting from animal to plant-based meat, we can positively impact four growing global issues: human health, climate change, constraints on natural resources, and animal welfare.”
Beyond Meat

Does Beyond Meat make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Beyond Meat are plant-based and vegan. They contain no animal products.

Are all Beyond Meat products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Beyond Meat are plant-based and vegan. They contain no animal products.

Is Beyond Meat a vegan business?

Uncertain. Beyond Meat is a publicly owned business and we do not know about major investors or shareholders and their approach to veganism.

 

Beyond Meat vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Beyond Meat make?

  • Vegan sausages.
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan ground meat substitutes and crumbles.

Where can I find Beyond Meat vegan products?

Beyond Meat products are widely available online and in grocery stores across the U.S. Beyond Meat products are also sold in several major restaurant chains including Dunkin’, TGI Fridays, and Carl’s Jr.

Boca


BOCA Foods was founded in 1979 with its first vegetarian product, the Sun Burger. The company is now a subsidiary of Kraft Foods. They produce meat-substitutes that are mostly vegetarian but some of them are vegan.


Boca vegan status


What Boca says about itself

“At BOCA, we strive to bring you delicious and convenient plant-based eats. Our vegan and vegetarian offerings of patties, bowls, nuggets, crumbles, falafels, and skillet meals are packed with flavor for are as delicious as they are easy to prepare. You don’t have to be vegetarian to enjoy BOCA!”
Boca

Does Boca make vegan products?

Yes. Some of the products made by Boca are vegan and plant-based.

Are all Boca products vegan?

No. Boca also produces vegetarian foods that do contain animal products.

Is Boca a vegan business?

No. Boca is owned by Kraft, a major food brand that owns many businesses that produce food containing animal products.

 

Boca vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Boca make?

  • Vegan burgers and patties.
  • Vegan falafel bites.
  • Vegan veggie crumbles.
  • Vegan nuggets.
  • Some burgers and other products made by Boca do contain dairy and are not vegan.

Where can I find Boca vegan products?

Boca products are widely available from grocery stores across the U.S. 

Daiya


The Daiya company was established by Greg Blake and Andre Kroecher in 2008. They make dairy-free products including cheese substitutes, pizza, ice cream, and more. The company is now owned by Otsuka Pharmaceutical.


Daiya vegan status


What Daiya says about itself

“We go all out to earn our place on daily menus with plant-based nutrition that delivers delightful flavor. To ensure that everyone can gather around the table—food-allergic, flexitarian, vegan, and everyone in-between—sharing meals made with respect for the planet, a commitment to quality, and a love for every bite.”
Daiya

Does Daiya make vegan products?

Yes. All Daiya products are vegan and plant-based.

Are all Daiya products vegan?

Yes. All Daiya products are vegan and plant-based. 

Is Daiya a vegan business?

No. Daiya is owned by Otsuka Pharmaceutical, which does test on animals.

 

Daiya vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Daiya make?

  • Vegan cheese shreds, blocks, slices, spreads, and sauces.
  • Vegan pizzas.
  • Vegan mac and cheese.
  • Vegan ice cream, yogurts, and desserts.
  • Vegan dressings.

Where can I find Daiya vegan products?

Daiya products are widely available in grocery stores across the U.S. 

Earth Balance


Earth Balance is based in Boulder, CO and was born out of GFA Brands (makers of Smart Balance spreads), now called Boulder Foods. They make many different types of vegan food. Boulder Foods is owned by Pinnacle Foods, which is not a vegan business. 


Earth Balance vegan status


What Earth Balance says about itself

“Plant-Made. Basically, it means we make things from plants. But it means other things, too, like integrity, mindfulness, and making a positive impact. Everything we make is vegan and free of animal products. Plant-based diets are recognized as having a reduced carbon footprint compared to animal-based diets. We’re committed to that kind of stuff and we know you are, too.”
Earth Balance

Does Earth Balance make vegan products?

Yes. All Earth Balance products are vegan.

Are all Earth Balance products vegan?

Yes. All Earth Balance products are vegan. 

Is Earth Balance a vegan business?

No. Earth Balance is owned by Conagra which owns a number of brands like Udi’s, Mrs. Paul’s, and Birds Eye ‍that include animal products.

 

Earth Balance vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Earth Balance make?

  • Vegan margarines and buttery spreads. 
  • Vegan nut butters.
  • Vegan baking sticks.
  • Vegan snacks and crackers.
  • Vegan dressings and spreads.

Where can I find Earth Balance vegan products?

Earth Balance is widely available in grocery stores across the U.S.

Earth Grown


Earth Grown is a label from the supermarket chain Aldi. The Earth Grown line is mainly vegan (there are some vegetarian items) and includes burgers, Italian and regular meatballs, and tenders. Aldi is a Germany-based discount supermarket and is not a vegan entity. 


Earth Grown vegan status


What Earth Grown says about itself

“All our Earth Grown products are free from animal products, including meat, poultry, and seafood. Our vegan items are also free from animal-derived ingredients including eggs, dairy, honey, gelatin, and lanolin.” 
Aldi

Does Earth Grown make vegan products?

Yes. Earth Grown does make some vegan products.

Are all Earth Grown products vegan?

No. Earth Grown also produces vegetarian items that contain animal products.

Is Earth Grown a vegan business?

No. Earth Grown is an Aldi brand, and Aldi sells many animal products.

 

Earth Grown vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Earth Grown make?

  • Vegan burgers in various types and flavors.
  • Vegan “meatballs” in various types and flavors.

Where can I find Earth Grown vegan products?

Earth Grown is an Aldi brand, and their products are available from Aldi grocery stores.

Earth’s Own


Earth’s Own was founded in 1995 by Maheb Nathoo under the name Soyaworld Inc. and was renamed Earth’s Own Food Company in 2011. They are a Canadian company that produces the So Good, So Nice, Almond Fresh, and Ryza brands, which make dairy-free products such as milks and yogurts. They are owned by Agrifoods International Cooperative. All of their products are vegan and available only in Canada.


Earth’s Own vegan status


What Earth’s Own says about itself

“Hi, hello. We’re Earth’s Own and we dig plants. Yeah, we get it. What does that really mean? To be blunt, the world can’t sustain our eating habits as they are now. Harsh, we know, but still true. So we’re putting our stake in the ground to be plant pioneers! We’re here to change the world through plantiful living. NBD.”
Earth’s Own

Does Earth’s Own make vegan products?

Yes. All of Earth’s Own products are vegan, plant-based, and free from animal ingredients.

Are all Earth’s Own products vegan?

Yes. All of Earth’s Own products are vegan, plant-based, and free from animal ingredients. 

Is Earth’s Own a vegan business?

No. Earth’s Own is owned by Agrifoods International Cooperative which also owns several dairy brands.

 

Earth’s Own vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Earth’s Own make?

  • Vegan milks and flavored milks including almond, oat, soy, and cashew.
  • Vegan premixed coffee.
  • Vegan cream.

Where can I find Earth’s Own vegan products?

Earth’s Own products are widely available in grocery stores in Canada.

Eden Foods


Eden Foods was created in 1969 as a co-op grocery store in southern Michigan. It’s famous for its line of organic soy milk, Edensoy and its line of Japanese foods. All of their products are vegan. 


Eden Foods vegan status


What Eden Foods says about itself

“Eden Foods began in southern Michigan in the late 1960s amongst friends sourcing natural food. Youth motivated by study of a worldwide phenomenon stemming from macrobiotics; the centering of ones eating around whole grain and seasonal local plant foods that are not toxic chemical adulterated or nutrient-depleted.”
Eden Foods

Does Eden Foods make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Eden Foods are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Eden Foods products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Eden Foods are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Eden Foods a vegan business?

Uncertain. We do not know the vegan status of who owns Eden Foods.

 

Eden Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Eden Foods make?

  • Beans.
  • Rice and pasta.
  • Cereals and whole grains.
  • Condiments and sweeteners.
  • Soy milk.
  • Fruits and juices.
  • Oils and vinegars.
  • Pasta.
  • Chili, tomatoes, and sauerkraut.
  • Snack foods.
  • Soups.
  • Spices and herbs.
  • Supplements and concentrates.
  • Teas.

Where can I find Eden Foods vegan products?

Eden Foods products are widely available in grocery and specialist stores across the US.

Field Roast and Chao Cheese


David Lee created Field Roast in 1997 with his brother Richard Lee with a loaf with three different flavors: Smoked tomato, Lentil sage and Wild mushroom. Then they created the cutlets and the famous Celebration Roast. They also produce various flavors of sausages including a breakfast sausage, burgers, deli slices, Fruffalo wings, and corn dogs.

Chao is a product line of plant-based cheeses made by Field Roast but is considered a brand by itself by many vegans. All Field Roast and Chao products are vegan, but the brands are owned by a Canadian slaughterhouse and meat processer, Maple Leaf Foods.


Field Roast vegan status


What Field Roast says about itself

“Since 1997, Field Roast has been a pioneer in the plant-based industry by creating flavorful, high-quality products that satisfy. We use fresh whole-food ingredients—grains, vegetables, legumes and spices—to craft our artisanal plant-based meats and cheeses.”
Field Roast

Does Field Roast make vegan products?

Yes. All of the products produced by Field Roast and Chao Creamery are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Field Roast products vegan?

Yes. All of the products produced by Field Roast and Chao Creamery are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Field Roast a vegan business?

No. The Field Roast and Chao Creamery brands are owned by Maple Leaf Foods, a major Canadian slaughterhouse and meat processor.

 

Field Roast vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Field Roast make?

  • Vegan sausage in various flavors.
  • Vegan deli slices.
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan meat substitutes.
  • Vegan roasts.
  • Vegan cheese slices.
  • Vegan mac and cheese.

Where can I find Field Roast vegan products?

Field Roast and Chao products are widely available in groccery stores and via online retailers.

Follow Your Heart


Follow Your Heart was created in 1970 as a sandwich counter by Michael Besançonn, Bob Goldberg, Paul Lewin and Spencer Windbiel. It’s a vegan food company that started with Vegenaise, an egg-free mayonnaise. They now produce the VeganEgg, a egg-replacement product, cheeses, dressings, sauces and spreads, like cream cheeses. The owners are now Bob Goldberg and Paul Lewin. The company’s products are completely vegan (even using vegan honey-substitutes) and the factory is solar powered.


Follow Your Heart vegan status


What Follow Your Heart says about itself

“From our early days as a soup and sandwich counter to our now internationally available brand of plant-based foods, Follow Your Heart has always led the way in innovating great-tasting and better-for-you foods while striving to make the world more compassionate (and delicious).”
Follow Your Heart

Does Follow Your Heart make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Follow Your Heart are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Follow Your Heart products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Follow Your Heart are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Follow Your Heart a vegan business?

Yes. Follow Your Heart is vegan and privately owned.

 

Follow Your Heart vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Follow Your Heart make?

  • Vegan mayonnaise and sauces.
  • Vegan cheese slices, shreds, and crumbles.
  • Vegan cream cheeses and sour cream.
  • Vegan yogurts.
  • Vegan salad dressings.
  • Vegan breads.
  • Vegan egg substitutes.

Where can I find Follow Your Heart vegan products?

Follow Your Heart food is widely available in grocery stores and online. Their products products are available in Canada under the Earth Island brand and in the following countries under the Follow Your Heart brand: U.S.A. U.K., Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, Ireland, Iceland, Denmark, Norway, France, Spain, Hungary, Slovakia, Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Panama, Bermuda, Haiti, Malaysia, and Israel.

Gardein


The company was founded by Yves Potvin and was officially established in 2003. All their meat-like chicken, beef and fish products are vegan. They produce tenders, wings, burgers, meatballs, meatloaf, fish filets and holiday specials. It is now owned by Conagra Brands which is not a vegan company.


Gardein vegan status


What Gardein says about itself

“We’re insanely passionate about helping the world eat less meat. That’s why we make delicious meatlness chick’n tenders, meatless meatballs, and more. Now you can skip meat for a meal, or a month, without skipping your favorite foods.”
Gardein

Does Gardein make vegan products?

Yes. All of Gardein’s products are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Gardein products vegan?

Yes. All of Gardein’s products are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Gardein a vegan business?

No. Gardein is owned by Conagra Brands, a large food conglomerate that manufactures many animal-based products.

 

Gardein vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Gardein make?

  • A wide variety of vegan meat substitutes in many flavors and forms. 
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan sausages.
  • Vegan ready made meals.
  • Vegan soups.
  • Vegan jerky.

Where can I find Gardein vegan products?

Gardein products are widely available in grocery stores and online.

Heritage Health Food


Heritage Health Foods was launched in 2009 and purchased Cedar Lake Foods. Cedar Lake Foods was formed in 1949 as a vegetarian product company, and they remain a vegetarian company. Heritage also owns Worthington, a vegetarian food company. 


Heritage vegan status


What Heritage says about itself

“I called my company “Heritage”, because of the strong heritage of food development and the creation of meat-free products that came out of those early pioneer years with an emphasis on helping people find healthier alternative food choices and supporting the health work around the world. In many ways, we need to re-energize the heritage that was so strong and continue that heritage to a new generation and a waiting world!”
Heritage Health Foods

Does Heritage make vegan products?

Yes. Heritage Health Foods does make some vegan products.

Are all Heritage products vegan?

No. Heritage also manufactures vegetarian products that do contain animal ingredients.

Is Heritage a vegan business?

No. Heritage does manufacture vegetarian products.

 

Heritage vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Heritage make?

All of these products are sold under the Worthington brand. Please note that many Worthington products are vegetarian, which means they do contain animal-derived ingredients. The products below are marked vegan on Worthington’s website.

  • Meatless salami deli slices and rolls.
  • Meatless Chicketts rolls.
  • Meatless tuna rolls.
  • Meatless sausage patties.
  • Meatless burgers.

Where can I find Heritage vegan products?

Worthington’s products are sold at several grocery store chains across the U.S. 

Impossible Foods


Impossible Foods was founded in 2011 by Patrick O. Brown and has rapidly expanded through availability in restaurants. Impossible is now selling directly to the public. All foods from Impossible are free of animal products. Note that Impossible Foods did have to conduct some federally-mandated animal testing.


Impossible Foods vegan status


What Impossible Foods says about itself

“Using animals to make meat is a prehistoric and destructive technology. We’re making meat from plants so that we never have to use animals again. That way, we can eat all the meat we want, for as long as we want. And save the best planet in the known universe.”
Impossible Foods

Does Impossible Foods make vegan products?

Yes. Impossible only makes plant-based, vegan products.

Are all Impossible Foods vegan?

Uncertain. Some vegans may not consider Impossible to be vegan due to the fact they were required to test a product on animals. Learn more here.

Is Impossible Foods owned by a vegan business?

Uncertain. We do not know the vegan status of the investors or owners in Impossible Foods. The company founder, Pat Brown, is vegan.

 

Impossible Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Impossible Foods make?

  • Vegan burgers and burger meat substitutes.
  • Vegan pork meat substitute.
  • Vegan sausages.

Where can I find Impossible Foods vegan products?

Impossible products are widely available from grocery stores, restaurants, and chains in the U.S.

Just Foods


Founded in 2011 by Josh Balk and Joshua Tetrick (CEO) as Hampton Creek, they launched their first product in 2013, Beyond Eggs, an egg replacement ingredient. They have also launched Just Mayo, followed by cookies, dressings, cookie dough, and Just Scramble, a vegan egg product. The business has now changed its name to Eat Just. Their food lines are exclusively vegan.


Just vegan status


What Just says about itself

“We are trying to change that mindset. We started with this idea that we would build a food system that makes it really easy for people to eat well. How do you create a system like that? And could we get it done in our lifetime? How would that change things? And what would we need to do, day-to-day, as a company, to make that happen?”
Eat Just

Does Just make vegan products?

Yes. Foods produced by Just are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Just products vegan?

Uncertain. Just did test an ingredient on animals. Here is what they said in an email: “Mung bean, the primary ingredient in our JUST Egg, has been in the food system and digested safely by human beings and other species for thousands of years. After ensuring the non-toxic nature of this ingredient, rats were fed mung bean protein and their excrement was analyzed for undigested proteins. No rats were killed to assess digestibility. This test was important in our successful GRAS assessment to use mung bean protein in JUST Egg and other plant-based products.”

Is Just a vegan business?

Uncertain. We do not know the vegan status of the investors or owners in Eat Just. The company founder and CEO, Josh Tetrick, is vegan. 

 

Just vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Just make?

  • Vegan egg substitute products.
  • Vegan mayonnaise.

Where can I find Just vegan products?

Just products are available in grocery stores and online.

Kite Hill


Kite Hill was founded by vegan chef Tal Ronnen, chef Monte Casino, and Patrick Brown. Kite Hill make vegan versions of cream cheese, artisanal soft cheeses, filled pastas, and yogurts. The company makes only vegan items.


Kite Hill vegan status


What Kite Hill says about itself

“We didn’t just want to make dairy-alternatives, we wanted to make the best-tasting foods you can buy. So we put blue-sky thinking in action to create plant-based products that are truly healthy and delicious.”
Kite Hill

Does Kite Hill make vegan products?

Yes. All Kite Hill products are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Kite Hill products vegan?

Yes. All Kite Hill products are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Kite Hill a vegan business?

No. Kite Hill has received a large investment from General Mills, which manufactures many animal-based products.

 

Kite Hill vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Kite Hill make?

  • Vegan yogurts.
  • Vegan Greek yogurts.
  • Vegan cream cheeses in various flavors.
  • Vegan ricotta.
  • Vegan filled pastas.
  • Vegan dips.
  • Vegan sour creams.
  • Vegan butter substitute.

Where can I find Kite Hill vegan products?

Kite Hill products are widely available in grocery stores.

Lightlife


Lightlife was founded in 1979 and renamed Lightlife in 1984. The company was owned first by ConAgra Foods, then Brynwood Partners, and is now owned by Maple Leaf Foods, a Canadian slaughterhouse and meat producer. They produce both vegan and vegetarian meat-substitutes but were said to have made all foods vegan by the end of 2017.


Lightlife vegan status


What Lightlife says about itself

“We’re proud of our roots. For over forty years, we’ve been committed to sharing our love for plant-based food and leading a balanced life. That’s why you’ll find our food is delicious and nutritious. Plus, we’re always looking for ways to improve our food and the impact we have on the planet.”
Lightlife

Does Lightlife make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Lightlife are vegan and plant-based.

Are all Lightlife products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Lightlife are vegan and plant-based. 

Is Lightlife a vegan business?

No. Lightlife is owned by Maple Leaf Foods, a major Canadian slaughterhouse and meat processor.

 

Lightlife vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Lightlife make?

  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan hot dogs.
  • Tempeh.
  • Vegan ground meat substitutes.
  • Vegan sausages.
  • Vegan deli slices.
  • Vegan chicken substitute.

Where can I find Lightlife vegan products?

Lightlife products are widely available in grocery stores.

Linda McCartney Foods


Linda McCartney Foods was created by Linda McCartney in 1991. They make vegetarian and vegan meat-substitutes such as pies, burgers, sausages, sausage rolls, meatballs, and pastas. Although the McCartney family stays involved in its development, the company is now owned by the Hain Celestial Group, which is not a vegan company, and which also owns Yves and Westsoy.


Linda McCartney Foods vegan status


What Linda McCartney Foods says about itself

“Linda McCartney embraced kindness and compassion in everything she did and this continues to run through what we do today. We take our social responsibility seriously and we’re on a mission to be good to the planet in every way we can, from ingredients to packaging, and everything in between.”
Linda McCartney Foods

Does Linda McCartney Foods make vegan products?

Yes. Linda McCartney foods does make some vegan products.

Are all Linda McCartney products vegan?

No. Linda McCartney foods makes several vegetarian products that do contain animal ingredients.

Is Linda McCartney Foods a vegan business?

No. Linda McCartney Foods is owned by Hains Celestial group which also owns a number of brands that manufacture or use animal products.

 

Linda McCartney Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Linda McCartney Foods make?

  • Vegan sausages in various flavors.
  • Vegan meat substitutes in many varieties.
  • Vegan fish substitutes in many varieties. 
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan pies.

 

Where can I find Linda McCartney Foods vegan products?

Linda McCartney products are widely available in supermarkets in the U.K. They are also available in Norway, Ireland, Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand

Missionary Chocolates


Missionary Chocolate was founded and is owned by Melissa Berry in 2008 and produces dairy-free truffles that are handmade in Portland, Oregon. The sales are used to build an inpatient and integrative healing center. They make several chocolate flavors that come in custom boxes.


Missionary Chocolates vegan status


What Missionary Chocolates says about itself

“What started out as gifts for her vegan mother quickly became a company, as a few months later her dairy-free truffles won first place at the Northwest Chocolate Festival in Portland, OR. This unexpected success changed what was a home-based kitchen experiment in chocolate into a thriving company — the Mission of the company has always been to build an inpatient, integrative healing center in Portland, funded by chocolate.”
Missionary Chocolates

Does Missionary Chocolates make vegan products?

Yes. All Missionary Chocolate products are vegan and dairy-free.

Are all Missionary Chocolates products vegan?

Yes. All Missionary Chocolate products are vegan and dairy-free. 

Is Missionary Chocolates a vegan business?

Yes. Missionary Chocolates is family-owned.

 

Missionary Chocolates vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Missionary Chocolates make?

  • Vegan truffles.
  • Vegan chocolate bars and candies.
  • Vegan marshmallows.

Where can I find Missionary Chocolates vegan products?

Missionary products are available through their website.

Miyoko’s Creamery


Miyoko’s Kitchen was founded by vegan cheesemaker, Miyoko Schinner. The company is completely vegan, even providing free vegan meals daily to its employees. Schinner is co-founder of Rancho Compassion, a sanctuary in California. The company produces artisan vegan cheeses, such as double cream chive, smoked, herbs de Provence, and truffle; in addition they make vegan butter and cream cheese.


Miyoko’s Creamery vegan status


What Miyoko’s Creamery says about itself

“What do we mean by that? It’s the new gold standard for the future of food that emphasizes artistry, integrity, ethics and conviviality. It’s the credo that drives everything we do from the creation of our products to inspiring others to try this phenomenal lifestyle. Phenomenally Vegan is how we change the world. Together.”
Miyoko’s

Does Miyoko’s Creamery make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Miyoko’s are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Miyoko’s Creamery products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Miyoko’s are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Miyoko’s Creamery a vegan business?

Yes. We believe Miyoko’s is privately-owned and vegan.

 

Miyoko’s Creamery vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Miyoko’s Creamery make?

  • Vegan cheese wheels in various flavors.
  • Vegan butter.
  • Vegan cream cheeses.
  • Vegan mozzarella.
  • Vegan Roadhouse spread.

Where can I find Miyoko’s Creamery vegan products?

Miyoko’s products are widely available in grocery stores.

Morningstar Farms


Morningstar Farms was created in the 1970s and was purchased by The Kellogg Company in October 1999. Their products are vegetarian meat-substitutes, a few of them are vegan.


Morningstar Farms vegan status


What Morningstar Farms says about itself

See, we’ve been making and innovating better-for-you, better-for-the-planet veggie foods since the very beginning. Over 40 years of spreading plant-based love through everyday food for everyday folks.
Morningstar Farms

Does Morningstar Farms make vegan products?

Yes. Morningstar Farms does make some vegan products.

Are all Morningstar Farms vegan?

No. Morningstar Farms also make a number of vegetarian foods that contain animal-derived products.

Is Morningstar Farms a vegan business?

No. Morningtsar Farms is owned by Kellogg’s which also owns a number of brands that use animal products in food.

 

Morningstar Farms vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Morningstar Farms make?

  • Vegan meat substitutes.
  • Some veggie burgers (note that most of their veggie burgers are not vegan).
  • Some nuggets and patties.
  • Some veggie bowls.
  • Note that quite a few Morningstar products do contain dairy and egg, so check ingredients carefully to be sure you find the vegan products.

Where can I find Morningstar Farms vegan products?

Morningstar Farms products are widely available in grocery stores.

No Evil Foods


No Evil Foods is a plant-based meat manufacturer located in Asheville, North Carolina. Although they only started in 2014, they have grown to be a premier producer of high-end meat substitutes. They are a self-owned, vegan business and products are available in Whole Foods, specialty market places, and via their website.


No Evil Foods vegan status


What No Evil Foods says about itself

“No Evil exists to empower people to make positive changes for themselves, the environment, and the welfare of animals through awesome food. Do No Evil is the crux of what we do and the center from which all good emanates. We’re family founded, majority women-led, human-centered, and purpose-powered”
No Evil Foods

Does No Evil Foods make vegan products?

Yes. All No Evil Foods products are plant-based and vegan.

Are all No Evil Foods products vegan?

Yes. All No Evil Foods products are plant-based and vegan. 

Is No Evil Foods a vegan business?

Uncertain. No Evil Foods does have investors that may not be vegan.

 

No Evil Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products does No Evil Foods make?

  • Vegan specialty meat substitutes.

Where can I find No Evil Foods vegan products?

No Evil Foods products are available from Whole Foods, Ingles, other grocery stores, and online.

Plamil


Plamil Foods was founded in 1956 by the owner Lesli Cross as the Plantmilk Society and was named Plamil Foods in 1965. They now offer a variety of dairy-free products. All of their items are vegan, and aim to reduce allergens as far as possible. They are a UK-based company.


Plamil vegan status


What Plamil says about itself

“We think our customers should be able to enjoy food, knowing that every care is taken whilst in production, but also have complete assurance about both the purity of ingredients that goes into making a product, as well as assurance that no other ingredient is present as well.”
Plamil

Does Plamil make vegan products?

Yes. All Plamil products are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Plamil products vegan?

Yes. All Plamil products are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Plamil owned by a vegan business?

Yes. Plamil is privately owned.  

 

Plamil vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Plamil make?

  • Vegan chocolate bars.
  • Vegan chocolate spreads.
  • Vegan plant milks.
  • Egg-free mayonnaise.

Where can I find Plamil vegan products?

Plamil products are available in some U.K. supermarkets and can also be purchased from the website for delivery in the U.K.

Quorn


Quorn is a meat-substitute company created in 1985 by Marlow Foods. It is now owned by Monde Nissin Corporation. Quorn is sold as both a cooking ingredient and as meat substitutes. Many of their products use egg albumen but a vegan line does exist that uses potato protein instead. They produce meat-free versions of sausages, grounds, and burgers and are known for their varieties of chicken-substitutes, like nuggets and filets.


Quorn vegan status


What Quorn says about itself

“At Quorn® we like to look at things differently. We know that the growing global population needs a sustainable diet that is also healthy. That’s why we take a different approach when it comes to protein production, choosing to use mycoprotein, a nutritious protein source, that is a source of fiber, in all Quorn products.”
Quorn

Does Quorn make vegan products?

Yes. Some of the products made by Quorn are vegan.

Are all Quorn products vegan?

No. Many of Quorn’s products contain egg and are not vegan.

Is Quorn a vegan business?

No. Quorn is owned by Monde Nissin, which also owns many brands that produce food containing animal products.

 

Quorn vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Quorn make?

According to their website, Quorn’s vegan products in the U.S.  include:

  • Vegan meat-substitute nuggets, pieces, and cutlets.
  • Vegan patties.
  • Vegan fillets.
  • Vegan fish-substitute sticks.

Where can I find Quorn vegan products?

Quorn products are widely available in supermarkets in the U.K. They can also be found in U.S. grocery chains and specialist stores.

Ripple


Ripple Foods was started in 2014 by Neil Renninger and Adam Lowry, both of whom have chemical and engineering degrees. They make their products using the yellow pea that has been dried and had its color and taste molecules removed. This leaves a high-protein, low-sugar ingredient for their products.


Ripple vegan status


What Ripple says about itself

“We think good food should be simple. And for food to be good, we think it needs to taste great, nourish your body and leave a small footprint on the planet. When we make the right choice as easy as pouring a delicious glass of Ripple milk, we empower more people to eat and live well.”
Ripple

Does Ripple make vegan products?

Yes. All Ripple products are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan.

Are all Ripple products vegan?

Yes. All Ripple products are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan. 

Is Ripple a vegan business?

Yes. Ripple is a public benefit corporation.

 

Ripple vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Ripple make?

  • Vegan milks in various flavors.
  • Vegan “Barista” style milk and half & half.
  • Vegan protein powders and shakes.
  • Vegan ice cream.

 

Where can I find Ripple vegan products?

Ripple products can be found in grocery stores and chains across the U.S. and Canada.

Sabra


Sabra was created in 1996 as Sabra-Blue & White Foods. It is now owned by Israeli food manufacturer Strauss and PepsiCo. They make hummus and guacamole. None of their foods contain animal products. 


Sabra vegan status


What Sabra says about itself

“Hummus offers a package of nutrients that can improve the nutritional value of meals and snacks, especially when used in place of other calorie-laden spreads, toppings or ingredients. Hummus pairs well with many foods and flavors, making it easy to increase intakes of vegetables, fruits, and whole grains.”
Sabra

Does Sabra make vegan products?

Yes. Sabara makes plant-based, vegan products.

Are all Sabra products vegan?

Uncertain. We believe that all of the hummus and guacamole made by Sabara is vegan, but some foods are labeled as vegetarian, although we can’t see any ingredients that are animal products.

Is Sabra a vegan business?

No. Sabra is owned by PepsiCo which owns many other brands that include animal products.

 

Sabra vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Sabra make?

  • Hummus.
  • Guacamole.

Where can I find Sabra vegan products?

Sabra products are very widely available in grocery and supermarket chains around the world.

Silk


Silk is a dairy-substitute brand that mostly produces plant-based milks and yogurts. It was founded in 1978 by Steve Demos and its first product was released in 1996. While all of the Silk brand products are vegan, it’s now owned by DanoneWave, which is not a vegan company and which also owns So Delicious.


Silk vegan status


What Silk says about itself

“Here at Silk, we believe in making delicious plant-based food that does right by you and fuels our passion for the planet. That’s been our elevator pitch (OK, carton pitch) for more than 25 years, and it’s why we’re among the OGs of dairy-free.”
Silk

Does Silk make vegan products?

Yes. All of Silk’s products are plant-based, dairy-free and vegan.

Are all Silk products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Silk are vegan.

Is Silk a vegan business?

No. Silk is owned by Danone which owns numerous other brands including many dairy brands. 

 

Silk vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Silk make?

  • Vegan milk in various styles and flavors.
  • Vegan creamers.
  • Vegan yogurts.

Where can I find Silk vegan products?

Silk products are widely available in grocery stores in the U.S. 

So Delicious


So Delicious was founded in the 1980s and is now owned by DanoneWave. The brand produces dairy-substitutes such as plant-based milks, yogurts, ice creams, and creamers. It is now owned by DanoneWave, which also owns Activia, Silk, Alpro, and Horizon Organic.


So Delicious vegan status


What So Delicious says about itself

“So Delicious has been bringing you dairy-free deliciousness—decadent frozen desserts, melty shreds, creamy yogurt alternatives, and smooth plant-based beverages and creamers—for over 30 years. We began with a desire to take dairy-free options beyond the milk aisle, and we’ve evolved into a brand that strives to do what’s good for people and the planet.”
So Delicious

Does So Delicious make vegan products?

Yes. All So Delicious products are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan.

Are all So Delicious products vegan?

Yes. All So Delicious products are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan. 

Is So Delicious a vegan business?

No. Silk is owned by Danone which owns numerous other brands including many dairy brands.  

 

So Delicious vegan product information


What types of vegan products does So Delicious make?

  • Vegan milks in various styles and flavors.
  • Vegan creamers.
  • Vegan ice cream.
  • Vegan cheese shreds.
  • Vegan frozen desserts.
  • Vegan yogurts.

Where can I find So Delicious vegan products?

So Delicious is widely available in grocery stores across the U.S. 

Sweet Earth


Sweet Earth are makers of vegetarian and vegan foods such as Benevolent Bacon, Harmless Ham, burritos and other animal-meat substitutes. They are a vegetarian company (some products use dairy and eggs). Though they are owned by Nestle, the company continues to be run by the founders, Kelly and Brian Swette, and operates relatively independently of Nestle.


Sweet Earth Natural Foods vegan status


What Sweet Earth Natural Foods says about itself

“We are food explorers. The Sweet Earth kitchen is a magic temple, where passionate chefs bring together ancient recipes and today’s harvest. The result? Food that you’ll love, that’ll surprise you, that’ll satisfy what we all believe: food should be delicious. It should add zest to your day and spice to your mind. We put in your hands an incredible diversity of plant foods and cooking traditions.”
Sweet Earth

Does Sweet Earth Natural Foods make vegan products?

Yes. Some of Sweet Earth’s products are vegan.

Are all Sweet Earth Natural Foods products vegan?

No. Sweet Earth makes some products that contain dairy and cheese.

Is Sweet Earth Natural Foods a vegan business?

No. Sweet Earth is owned by Nestlé which owns many brands that contain animal products.

Sweet Earth Natural Foods vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Sweet Earth Natural Foods make?

  • Meal bowls.
  • Burritos and empanadas.
  • Vegan burgers and patties.
  • Vegan deli slices.
  • Vegan bacon.
  • Vegan meat substitutes – mince and grounds.

Where can I find Sweet Earth Natural Foods vegan products?

Sweet Earth foods are widely available at grocery stores across the U.S. 

Tofurky


Tofurky was founded in 1980 by Seth Tibbott and is a trademark of Turtle Island Foods, which is the only owner. It specializes in meat substitutes, such as tempeh, ham, sausages, holidays specials such as roasts and gravy. Everything is vegan. The owners are vegan and they are a fully sustainable company.


Tofurky vegan status


What Tofurky says about itself

“Happiness is when the food you want to eat, the food you should eat, and the food you do eat are all the same food. Tasty, good for us, good for animals and the environment, and easy to get onto the table on a busy Tuesday night: that’s truly satisfying food. That’s the kind of food we make at Tofurky.”
Tofurky

Does Tofurky make vegan products?

Yes. All Tofurky products are plant-based and vegan.

Are all Tofurky products vegan?

Yes. All Tofurky products are plant-based and vegan. 

Is Tofurky a vegan business?

Yes. Tofurky is family-owned, vegan, and sustainable.

 

Tofurky vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Tofurky make?

  • Vegan meat substitutes.
  • Vegan deli meats.
  • Vegan burgers.
  • Vegan frankfurters and hot dogs.
  • Vegan sausages.
  • Vegan roasts.
  • Vegan mince and grounds.

Where can I find Tofurky vegan products?

Tofurky is widely available in grocery stores across the U.S.

Tofutti


The brand was started by David Mintz over 30 years ago to help his customers keep to their Kosher diets of not eating meat and dairy in the same meal. He used tofu instead of dairy to create vegan cakes, cookies, ice creams, Better than Ricotta and Better than Cream Cheese spreads, and cheese. Mintz is still part of the company, which is located in New Jersey. The company and the brand are almost exclusively vegan and no animal products are used in any items apart from Mintz’s Blintzes which use egg whites.


Tofutti vegan status


What Tofutti says about itself

“Not just ice cream anymore! Tofutti’s ice cream-like pint size desserts have been available around the country for years. But did you know that the man, David Mintz, Tofutti CEO and founder, who put the fun back in ice cream, also makes a wide variety of other dairy-free soy based products?”
Tofutti

Does Tofutti make vegan products?

Yes. Tofutti makes many vegan products.

Are all Tofutti products vegans?

No. One of their products, Mintz’s Blintzes, contains egg whites. All other products are free from animal ingredients.

Is Tofutti a vegan business?

No. Although Tofutti is family-owned, one product contains animal ingredients. 

 

Tofutti vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Tofutti make?

  • Vegan ice cream.
  • Vegan frozen desserts. 
  • Vegan cheeses.
  • Vegan cream cheeses.
  • Vegan sour cream.
  • Vegan pizzas.

Where can I find Tofutti vegan products?

Tofutti products are widely available in grocery stores across the U.S. 

Violife


Violife has been making vegan cheese products, such as slices, blocks, wedges, grated cheeses and cream cheese since the 1990s. It is a completely vegan brand and is now owned by Upfield, a specialist in plant-based spreads.


Violife vegan status


What Violife says about itself

“Welcome to the wonderful world of Violife! We are a very happy bunch of foodies based in the beautiful surroundings of Thessaloniki in Greece. We’ve been dedicated to making amazing tasting, 100% vegan non-dairy, non-GMO foods since the 90’s and we are proud and humbled to be a favorite brand for so many vegans around the world.”
Violife

Does Violife make vegan products?

Yes. All products made by Violife are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan.

Are all Violife products vegan?

Yes. All products made by Violife are plant-based, dairy-free, and vegan. 

Is Violife owned by a vegan business?

Uncertain. Violife is owned by Upfield which owns several other plant-based brands, but Upfield is owned by KKR Group which invests in non-vegan businesses.

 

Violife vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Violife make?

  • Vegan cheese in various varieties, styles, and flavors.
  • Vegan cream cheese.

Where can I find Violife vegan products?

Violife is widely available in grocery stores in many countries.

Yves Veggie Cuisine


Yves Veggie Cuisine was founded by Yves Potvin who sold it to the Hain Celestial Group in 2001. They make vegan and vegetarian meat-substitutes, including deli slices, breakfast sausages and veggie dogs.


Yves Veggie Cuisine vegan status


What Yves Veggie Cuisine says about itself

Yves Veggie Cuisine® provides nutritious vegan and vegetarian options that are better for you because they are a good source of protein, do not have artificial colors or flavors, and contain a good source of B12 and iron.

Does Yves Veggie Cuisine make vegan products?

Yes. Some Yves products are vegan.

Are all Yves Veggie Cuisine products vegan?

No. Some of Yve’s products are vegetarian and contain animal protein.

Is Yves Veggie Cuisine a vegan business?

No. Yves is owned by Hains Celestial group which also owns a number of brands that manufacture or use animal products.

 

Yves Veggie Cuisine vegan product information


What types of vegan products does Yves Veggie Cuisine make?

  • Vegan ice cream and ice cream snacks.
  • Vegan cheeses.
  • Vegan cream cheeses.
  • Vegan sour cream.
  • Vegan pizzas.

Where can I find Yves Veggie Cuisine vegan products?

Yves products are available at supermarkets in the U.K.